Average Rope Access Salary in New Zealand

Rate this topic

hey guys

My wife and I are looking forward to immigrate to New Zealand and while she is studying at Massey university in Palmerston North i want to work as a rope access operator there ( or some other nearby places )  , I'm getting my IRATA level 1 certification in a few days and have many related work experiences because i am a pro rock/big wall climber and know the main rules.

is there any differences between IRANNZ and IRATA there ? can i work with my IRATA level 1 certification there ?

since we are checking our life expenses there, would you please tell me if i have a hypothetical job as a leve 1 IRATA operator under the work visa how much my average salary per hour would be in nzd$ ? and how many hours can i work per week ? how much is the tax ?

thank you so much and have a nice safe day.
  • Root Admin

Welcome to the forum!

Gaining an IRATA Level 1 certificate will do you better in the long run as it means you can work anywhere on the planet with it - its accepted in NZ. Salary rates will depend entirely on what you can bring to the table, you don't mention what marketable skills you have so your salary could vary widely - rock / wall climbing skills aren't really relevant as that's not how the company makes its money out of you.

Tax rates are:

33% from $70,000

30%: $48,001 to $70,000

17.5%: $14,001 to $48,000

10.5%: $0 to $14,000

Working hours regulation is about the same as most other places, a standard 40 hour working week is in place with optional overtime on top of that. Rope Access operating companies will require a degree of flexibility due to the nature of the job so there will often be a lot more hours available if you need / want them.

19 hours ago, admin said:

Welcome to the forum!